#### **CITY OF WESTMINSTER**

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

At the Meeting of the Council of the City of Westminster held at 7.00 pm on Wednesday 18th May, 2022 at Westminster Council House, 97-113 Marylebone Road, London, NW1 5PT.

## **PRESENT**

The Lord Mayor, Andrew Smith and upon election as Lord Mayor, Councillor Hamza Taouzzale

# **COUNCILLORS**

Concia Albert Patrick Lilley Gillian Arrindell Patricia McAllister Barbara Arzymanow Alan Mendoza Geoff Barraclough Tim Mitchell Nafsika Butler-Thalassis Matt Noble Melvyn Caplan Ellie Ormsby Maggie Carman Ralu Oteh-Osoka Chowdhury Robert Rigby

Lorraine Dean
Tony Devenish
Tim Roca
Paul Dimoldenberg
Laila Dupuy
Robert Eagleton
Paul Fisher
Ed Pitt Ford
Rachael Robathan
Tim Roca
Ian Rowley
Cara Sanquest
Caroline Sargent
Karen Scarborough
Mark Shearer

Jim Glen Mark Sheare
Selina Short

David Harvey James Small-Edwards

Elizabeth Hitchcock
Adam Hug
Louise Hyams
Amanda Langford
Aicha Less
Judith Southern
Max Sullivan
Paul Swaddle
Jessica Toale
Aziz Toki

Iman Less Jason Williams

**APOLOGIES:** Councillors Liza Begum, David Boothroyd, Ruth Bush, Sara Hassan, Ryan Jude, Angela Piddock and Jacqui Wilkinson

# 1 ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

1.1 Proposed by Councillor Tim Roca and seconded by Councillor Aicha Less that Councillor Hamza Taouzzale be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.

1.2 Upon a show of hands, the Lord Mayor declared that Councillor Hamza Taouzzale had been elected Lord Mayor.

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Hamza Taouzzale be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.

Councillor Hamza Taouzzale thereupon made and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Lord Mayor and of the Office of Deputy High Steward of Westminster. Having done so, he took the Chair and thanked the Council for his election and reported that his mother Soad El-Gharras and aunt Jasmine El-Gharras would be his Consorts.

#### 2 MINUTES

2.1 **RESOLVED:** That the minutes of the Council meeting held on 2 March 2022 were, with the assent of the Members present, signed by the Lord Mayor as a true record.

#### 3 LORD MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS

- 3.1 The Lord Mayor read a statement of condolence on behalf of the City Council in memory of Andrew Havery, Councillor for Churchill Ward from 2002 to 2014, following which the Council observed a minute's silence.
- 3.2 The Lord Mayor announced that he had appointed Imam Kabir Uddin MBE as his Chaplain. The Chaplain then led the Council in a moment of reflection.

# 4 PRESENTATION OF PAST LORD MAYOR'S BADGE AND VOTE OF THANKS

- 4.1 Councillor Louise Hyams moved the Vote of Thanks to Councillor Andrew Smith and his Consort, Salma Shah. Councillor Jim Glen spoke to second the motion.
- 4.2 Motion put, and on a show of hands, the Lord Mayor Declared the motion **CARRIED** following which Councillor Smith replied.

#### **RESOLVED:**

- 1. That the Council resolved to record a Vote of Thanks to Councillor Andrew Smith for the distinguished service rendered by him as Lord Mayor and to his Consort, Salma Shah for the constant and invaluable help given by her as the Lord Mayor's Consort.
- 2. We assure them of our gratitude for, and high appreciation of, the dignity and ability with which they have carried out their many duties in accordance with the highest traditions of the City and this Vote of Thanks be inscribed under the Common Seal and presented to them.

# 5 RETURN OF COUNCILLORS AND NOTIFICATION OF MEMBERS OF POLITICAL GROUPS INCLUDING LEADERS, DEPUTY LEADERS AND PARTY WHIPS

5.1 The report of the Chief Executive was noted.

#### 6 ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

- 6.1 Proposed by Councillor Paul Dimoldenberg and seconded by Councillor Nafsika Butler-Thalassis that Councillor Adam Hug be elected Leader of the Council.
- 6.2 Motion put, and on a show of hands, declared **CARRIED**.

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Adam Hug be elected Leader of the Council.

### 7 DELEGATIONS TO LEADER AND CABINET

7.1 The report was noted.

# 8 NOTIFICATION BY THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL OF CABINET MEMBERS AND RELATED MATTERS

8.1 The report of the Leader of the Council was noted.

#### 9 CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS

- 9.1 The report of the Chief Executive and the Director of Law was submitted.
- 9.2 The Lord Mayor put the recommendations set out in the report to the vote and on a show of hands declared these to be **AGREED**.

#### **RESOLVED:**

- 1. That the number of seats appointed to on Standing Committees be amended as set out in 2 below and their Terms of Reference as set out in Appendix A be approved.
- 2. That the Council confirm the proportional division of seats on the Standing Committees as set out below.

Committee	Members		
	Total	Labour	Conservative
Audit and Performance Committee	4	3	1
General Purposes Committee	4	3	1
Westminster Scrutiny Commission	5	3	2
Communities, City Management and Air Quality P&S	7	4	3
Children & Adults, Public Health & Voluntary Sector P&S	7	4	3
Finance, Planning and Economic Development P&S	7	4	3
Climate Action, Housing and Regeneration P&S	7	4	3
Standards Committee	5	3	2
Pensions Fund Committee	4	3	1
Planning & City Development Committee	14	8	6
Licensing Committee	15	8	7
Total	79	47	32
Target number (and variance)		45 (+2)	34 (-2)

- 3. That the Council note the Members appointed to the Standing Committees by the Chief Executive following notification received from the respective party Chief Whip under the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 as amended, set out in Appendix B, to be tabled.
- 4. That the Council's Constitution, including the Scheme of Delegations to Officers in respect of Non-Executive functions, be endorsed.